St Patricks one pot.

March 15, 2010

After last months St Davids recipe of leek risotto it’s now the turn of good ole St Patrick and whats better than a lovely warming one pot and a pint of the black stuff?

Yesterday my Mum cooked an amazing roast dinner  for Mothers Day and I provided pudding (spotted dick, stop giggling). Mum did a roast leg of lamb which rocked! I asked her if I could have the bone and meat scraps that were left so I could make a stew. Nothing has to go to waste really and there is so much flavour in the bone to make stock and some lovely bits of lamb. I got hold of a bargain veg stew pack for 30p! So tonight’s dinner for 4 costs less than a quid, well I’m not buying the Guinness am I?

My Great Granny uped and left Ireland due to poverty and famine and settled in Newcastle where she bought up my Gran who still lives in one of the most deprived parts of Newcastle today. My Mum and Gran have taught me so much about cooking, how to use food and stretch it but it tastes soooo good. We have a food budget of about £40 a week, it used to be £100 in my husbands previous job, but times and situations change and we adapt so the skills they taught me have come to fruition, thanks ladies!

Granny Caulfields Stew.

You can use:

Lamb shanks, diced casserole lamb or in my case a left over roast lambs leg.

homemade stock (just buy lamb or beef stock cube to save time)

  • Strip the bone of meat and keep meat in fridge. Add the bones to a pot of boiling salted water with a stick of celery a chopped onion and a chopped carrot.
  • Cover and simmer for an hour or more, you should end up with a lovely stock.
  • Drain and keep the liquid, discard the bones and veg.

Stew

3 large Potatoes

med swede

2 med parsnips

5 carrots

1/2 cup pearl barley

1 lge onion

lamb meat

  • In a large pot fry the onions in a little butter until soft, add the carrots, parsnip and swede, cubed.
  • Pour in the stock about a pint and a half and bring to the boil. Now add the pearl barley, cover and simmer for an hour until the barley is cooked, now add the potatoes.
  • Season the stew to taste and cook for a further 20 mins.

Now its time to add the dumplings.

100g self-raising flour

50g suet (I use Atora light suet)

  • Mix together in a bowl with a little water and a pinch of salt until you get a pliable dough.
  • shape into balls
  • pop the dumplings on top of the stew they should be bobbing about.
  • put the lid back on and simmer for 30 mins.
  • now add the lamb meat you saved from the left over roast and heat through.
  • Serve with a glass of Guinness and a slice of soda bread.
Leave a Reply

